HomeStandalone LicensesUpgradesCan I Uninstall Earlier Versions after Installing Release 5.7 of Palisade Software?

4.4. Can I Uninstall Earlier Versions after Installing Release 5.7 of Palisade Software?

Question:
After I upgraded to release 5.7 or 5.5 of Palisade software, I noticed that Control Panel's Programs and Features (Add or Remove Programs in Windows XP) shows both that one and an earlier release, such as 5.0 or 4.5.  Should I uninstall the earlier versions?

Response:
The 5.7 and 5.5 installers overwrites the earlier 5.x program files and shortcuts, so that the earlier version is actually not on your computer any more.  Unfortunately, the older version is still listed in Programs and Features.  Please do not uninstall the earlier version after installing 5.7 or 5.5: it may make the new version malfunction.

The "orphan" entry in Programs and Features or Add or Remove Programs isn't doing any harm.  But if you would like to remove it, please see Microsoft's Knowledge Base article 314481, How to manually remove programs from the Add or Remove Programs tool.

The 5.x installers do not overwrite any program files and shortcuts from releases 1.x and 4.x.  The entries in Add or Remove Programs (Programs and Features) are legitimate. Releases 1.x and 4.x can coexist with 5.x on the same workstation, as long as you don't run them at the same time.  However, if you want to save disk space, you can uninstall releases 1.x or 4.x using that entry in Control Panel.  (The DecisionTools Suite 4.5 is alphabetized under T, not D.)

If you uninstall release 1.x or 4.x after installing 5.x, you will need to repair the 5.x release.  A repair is different from an uninstall/reinstall; please see Repair of Palisade Software for easy instructions.

last edited: 2016-07-05

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful