HomeMore on NetworksUpgradesUpgrading to Version 7: Enterprise Network 5.x/6.x

7.2. Upgrading to Version 7: Enterprise Network 5.x/6.x

Disponible en español: Actualización a Versión 7: Licencias Enterprise 5.x/6.x
Disponível em português: Atualizando para versão 7: Licenças 5.x/6.x Rede Enterprise

Applies to: Palisade software release 5.x/6.x, Enterprise Network licenses.
For upgrades from other releases or license types, please see Upgrading Palisade Software.

In general, you can upgrade for free if you have current maintenance. If your maintenance contract has lapsed, please contact your Palisade sales manager for upgrade pricing.

  1. Contact your Palisade sales manager to request the upgrade. It will help if you have your software serial number handy.

  2. Within a day or two, you will receive an email containing a new 7.x Activation ID and links to download the server and client software.

  3. Follow the Server Setup procedure in the 7.0 Network Guide to install the 7.x server software and activate the 7.x Activation ID that you received in email. Be sure to generate a new Palisade_NetworkClient.ini file in Server Step 4.

  4. On each computer, deactivate and uninstall the old software (if present):

    1. To deactivate 6.x, run the software and click Help » License Manager » Deactivate.
      To deactivate 5.x, use the NLicense utility provided with your original 5.x install.
    2. Uninstall the 5.x/6.x software in Control Panel » Programs and Features.
  5. If you have any Palisade software versions 6.x or older as active add-ins in Excel, remove them. Click File » Options » Add-Ins. At the bottom of the right-hand panel, click Go. Remove the tick marks for the old versions, and click OK. Add-ins are a per-user option, so this change needs to be made under the end user's profile. Our software does not need to be an active add-in, unless you want it to start every time Excel starts; see Opening Palisade Software Automatically Whenever Excel Opens.

  6. Install the 7.x client software on each computer; see Enterprise Network Client Setup (7.x).

    You can install the new software on some computers before removing the old software from other computers. You can even install the new software on a computer before removing the old software from that same computer, though the two versions must not run at the same time.

    You can install the new software on any computer, not necessarily one that previously had the old software. However, your total installs are limited to the number purchased.

Last edited: 2016-01-29

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful