HomeMore on NetworksOverviewOverview of 6.x/7.x Network Licenses

1.2. Overview of 6.x/7.x Network Licenses

Applies to: Palisade network software, releases 6.x/7.x

See also: Overview of 6.x/7.x Licenses

What are the benefits of a network license?

With a network license, you perform a one-time activation step to transfer the license from Palisade's server to your server. You get one serial number and one Activation ID, regardless of the number of users. You have the option to split your purchased licenses between servers if you wish. The end-user computers get their licenses from your server, not ours, which simplifies the activation process and your license administration. Neither server nor clients need to be on the Internet. The network client installs can be completely scripted, which simplifies your configuration management.

What are the customer's responsibilities with a network license?

Since the network license resides on your server, and Palisade's server is not involved in any way after the initial transfer, the license is your responsibility to manage. Palisade has no way to know who within your organization is using a license or even how many licenses are in use at a given time, so license administration is up to you. The only requirement is that you deactivate the network license before you reimage an Enterprise Network client, or a Concurrent or Enterprise Network server.

For the full license terms, please see Network Server License Agreement and End User License Agreement (EULA).

What types of network license are available?

What are system requirements for the license server?

Any Windows machine, with Windows XP or later, is fine. A dedicated machine is not necessary, because all the server has to do is sit and listen for license requests from the clients. You should not notice any performance impact from the licensing process. Thus a peer-to-peer environment is just fine, though of course the person who is using the "server" must not shut it down when anyone else wants to use the networked Palisade software.

Virtual servers are supported. With a virtual server, you have the same responsibility as with a physical server: you must deactivate the network license before you wipe or decommission the server.

Usually the server manages the license, and the application runs on the end-user computers. But it's also possible to set up a Concurrent Network in a terminal services, Citrix, or thin client configuration, where computing happens on the central server. Please see Citrix and Terminal Services for more.

See also: License Server System Requirements (7.x).

What are requirements for the corporate network?

While a conventional LAN is the most common configuration, it's not a requirement. We have users running on wider networks, including networks linking the Eastern and Western Hemispheres. You can set things up so that the client reaches the license server by a simple host name, by a qualified name, or even by an IP address.

What are requirements for the end-user workstations (clients)?

Please see Windows and Office Versions Supported by Palisade and Hardware Requirements or Recommendations.

Is an Internet connection needed?

The clients don't need an Internet connection. They get their Palisade software license from your server, not Palisade's server.

For the server, an ongoing Internet connection is not needed. When you first activate your license (transfer the license to your server), an Internet connection is helpful but not an absolute requirement.

Can I grant or deny access to the network license for particular users or groups of users?

For a Concurrent Network, see Access Control in 7.x Concurrent Network.

With an Enterprise Network, you control access simply by installing the software only on authorized users' computers.

Must end users be connected to our network, or can they run off network?

In an Enterprise Network, activation on any given client is a one-time process, and after that the client can run on or off network.

In a Concurrent Network, users are normally connected to the network, and the client software dynamically obtains a license from your server. But it's also possible to borrow a license for use off network, for example on a laptop while traveling. Borrowing is disabled by default, but you can enable it through an option in our Server Manager software. If you enable borrowing, you select a maximum borrowing period.

When borrowing a license, the user selects an expiration date or number of days, up to the maximum that you specified on the server. During that time, the application can run without being connected to your license server, and one license fewer is available to users who do connect to the server. At the end of the borrowing period, the license automatically returns to the server pool even if the client is not connected to the server. If the user finishes off-network use sooner than planned, the license can be returned early. For user instructions, see Borrowing a 6.x/7.x Concurrent Network License for Use off Network.

If you have a few users who use the application off network a lot of the time, it might make sense to give them standalone licenses rather than have them participate in the pool of the concurrent licenses. Your Palisade sales manager can help you determine whether a pure concurrent model or a mixed model makes more sense for you.

How do we change out an end user's computer, or upgrade their copy of Windows?

An Enterprise Network has a limited number of installs, and reimaging the computer would lose one permanently. So before you give a user a new computer, deactivate the software on the old one. If the user is keeping the same computer but you're reimaging it, deactivate the software before the reimage and then it will get reactivated when you reinstall the software. See Deactivating a 6.x/7.x Enterprise Network Client License. These deactivations require a connection to your server, not ours, and there are no restrictions on how often you move an Enterprise Network client license.

A Concurrent Network has unlimited installs, so usually you can just wipe computers and install the software as often as you want. There's one exception: if the client has borrowed a license, you should return it before wiping or reimaging the end user computer. If you don't, the borrowed license will be unavailable until the end of the borrowing period, but then it will automatically return to the available pool on the server.

What do we have to do when changing or reimaging our server?

Changing Concurrent Network servers is easy and does not require reinstalling the software on the users' workstations. A software setting on each workstation directs it to look to the new server for a license, instead of the old one. Please see Moving 7.x Concurrent Network to a New Server  for details.

Moving an Enterprise Network to a new server doesn't require reinstalling the clients, but you do have to deactivate all the clients before the server change and reactivate them after the server change. Please see Moving 7.x Enterprise Network to a New Server for full details.

The license terms allow for deactivating a network server license once in any 90 days. You must not reimage a network server while the license is on it, or the license will be lost.

How do we upgrade the end users to a new version of Palisade software?

If you keep your maintenance contract current, you are entitled to upgrade the application software whenever we release a new version. Depending on the exact nature of the upgrade, this may be as simple as installing the new version over top of the old, or it may be necessary also to download a new set of licenses keyed to the new version. There is no need to replace the server software when upgrading from one 7.x version to a later 7.x version. To begin the upgrade process, please see Upgrading Palisade Software.

Where do I find technical documentation?

See 7.x Network Guide or Guía para Administradores 7.x.

If you have already installed the server software, you can also click Start » Programs » Palisade Network Server » Guide for Administrators. However, the Guide on the Web is updated more frequently, and the online Guía is more complete than the one installed with the server software.

Last edited: 2016-07-06

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful