HomeNetwork GuideFAQsMoving Enterprise Network to a New Server

3.17. Moving Enterprise Network to a New Server

Disponible en español: Transferencia de la licencia Enterprise de Red a un Nuevo Servidor

Applies to:
Enterprise Network software 6.x/7.x

How do I move my Enterprise Network license to a new server?

You must deactivate every Enterprise Network client before you can move an Enterprise Network to a new server. There is no need to uninstall or reinstall the client software, and you don't need a new Activation ID. Still, the process is somewhat laborious. If you can wait, it's simpler not to change license servers until the renewal anniversary, and then just "renew" the license on the new server. If you do need to change license servers before the refresh date, please follow these steps:

  1. Get the necessary server and client installers from Palisade Technical Support.
  2. On the new server, perform Server Setup Steps 1 and 2.
  3. On every Enterprise client (workstation), run the software and click Help » License Manager » Deactivate. For more about deactivating, see Deactivating an Enterprise Network Client License.
  4. On the old server, use Server Manager to deactivate the Enterprise license. Make a note of the Activation ID, because you will need it on the new server. See Deactivating a Network License.
  5. On the new server, use that same Activation ID to activate the network license, then do Server Setup Step 4.
  6. On every Enterprise client, run the software. If License Manager doesn't open automatically, click Help » License Manager. In License Manager, click Activate, enter the Activation ID, and enter the new server name and port number.
  7. (optional) On the old server, if there are no other licenses, uninstall Palisade Network Server.

Last edited: 2018-09-07

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful